• The Mac-Forums Community Guidelines (linked at the top of every forum) are very clear, we respect US law and court precedence when it comes to legality of activity.

Therefore to clarify:
    • You may not discuss breaking DVD or BluRay encryption, copying, or "ripping" commercial, copy-protected DVDs.
    • This includes DVDs or BluRays you own. Even if you own the DVD or BluRay, it is still technically illegal under the DMCA to break the encryption. While some may argue otherwise, until the law is rewritten or the US Supreme Court strikes it down, we will adhere to the current intent of the law.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying unprotected movies or homemade DVDs.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying tools in the context that they are used for legal purposes as outlined in this post.

imovie 06 or 08

Reaction score
I am fairly new to Mac, I have an Imac 24’ which is about 8 months old.

I wish to start turning my home videos into DVD’s.

I use a basic Sony DV camcorder

I am about to start using the software that came with my Mac i.e. imovie 06. However I now see there is an upgrade to imovie 08. I have read that Imovie 08 is really a poor program relative to imovie 06.

My question is as follows, I will only need the simplest functions, as I have no intention to create complex DVD’s, all I want to do is import the video, edit out the boring bits, add a title and then copy to DVD.

Should I start learning imovie 06 or upgrade to Imovie 08?

Thanks Antony Berrill

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP 2.0 GHz, Core Duo, 2 GB Ram
If you are sure you don't want any more functionality than what you describe here, I would say '08, though I haven't used it myself, because it is a bit limited for my purposes.

The one advantage to '06, that I can think of over '08, is if you want to increase the volume, where someone is speaking in your videos, you won't be able to in '08...as far as I 've heard anyway.

Hope this helps,

Brian

Reaction score