Need an editor: TextMate or BBEdit?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook, 2.0GHz. 2GB RAM
OK, so I'm looking to finally buy one of these two. I can get them at the educational discount (college student), which would drop me $49 for BBEdit and $59 for TextMate. I don't know the details on upgrades, etc. for each program.

Anyway, I'll be using the app for:
  • HTML and CSS
  • JavaScript
  • PHP
  • Python, maybe Ruby

I'm a fairly serious web designer, and really don't get much value out of the WYSIWYG way of doing things except for changing text and locating an element on a given page. I have used BBEdit for some time, but only as a text editor, and never anything more. So basically, my options are open to learn the habits, wrinkles, muscle memories, and quirks of either program.

So, I don't entirely mean to make this another editor war, I just want to know which one I'll get the most out of. I feel like this is a big decision because chances are that I will be using the editor I choose, assuming the project's health, for quite a while.

At the moment, 95% of my coding is HTML and CSS, and the rest is JavaScript and PHP. But I have a strong interest in Python, and have dabbled in Ruby, so programming ability is important for the program.

Any advice?

OP
T
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook, 2.0GHz. 2GB RAM
Actually, playing with both a bit more made me realize that TM is a much more robust editor. I've gone with that, and purchased the license. I'm already loving how it works with projects!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Lenovo Z560 Hackintosh -:- '06 iMac -:- iPod Touch 2ndGen
I'd have gone with Smultron, I wouldn't pay money for an editor.

OP
T
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook, 2.0GHz. 2GB RAM
I'd have gone with Smultron, I wouldn't pay money for an editor.