Mac Pro or Macbook Pro for freshman film major....

Reaction score
I'm a freshman at Drexel University majoring in film/video production and i'm stuck on whether to get a Mac Pro or Macbook Pro. I know that the MP has the quad core xeon and smokes the MBP, but the MBP is mobile so I can take it to class. The one major reason why the MP looks attractive is that i can get two 24" monitors hooked up and it will scream with 500 gigs hard drive space, but the MBP is mobile. I'm just stuck and need advice. Is the extreme processing power in the MP really worth losing mobility (and the hefty price tag over the 2.4 GHZ MBP) thanks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MacBook Pro (Early 2008) 2.4GHz 4GB RAM running 10.5.4
Depends on how mobile you want to be. If you don't mind carrying a big tower and a huge screen back and forth between dorm and home (during holidays), then go for the Mac Pro. Otherwise, the 17" MBP will do you justice with portability and adequate processing power. I dunno

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP : 2.4GHz : 2GB RAM : 256MB VRAM : 160GB HDD
With the MacBook Pro, you can actually hook up the 30" display... it's not quite as good as 2 24", but it's pretty darn sweet!

The biggest advantage would be being able to edit on location (or anywhere), which is pretty cool, and a real time saver.

With the money you save you could get a DV deck, that 30" display, some external HDD space, or put it into software... or anything else you'll need.