I'm Thinking of Getting a Mac...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
None whatsoever...yet.
Hey, folks. I'm going to bring up something I've been thinking for the past month or two. I've been using Ubuntu (dualbooted with Windows) for a couple months. While Ubuntu is good for basic stuff, Windows is pretty uninspiring. I've been seriously considering getting a MacBook Pro, or an iMac. So, I came here to ask about them from people that use Macs daily.
My only concerns are:
-Cost (Is it too expensive? Or is the price actually good, in the long run?)
-Quality of OSX (is it good? More inspiring than Windows? How customizable is it?)
-Quality of MacBooks/iMacs (Are they durable/reliable?)
I also want to know, what problems have you guys had with yours?

I've tried Ubuntu, and I liked that. But, I'm sick of my PC. I've heard that the GNOME Desktop is similar to OSX's Aqua, and it's got some lovely eyecandy. I've heard that it's excellent for animation, sound editing, web design, movie editing, and a lot more.
Also, a handful of games have been ported to Mac, as well as useful apps like Photoshop, Office, Flash MX, various game engines.
So, how are Macs? Do third party game engines (such as Adventure Game Studio) run well on them? How are third-party apps in general?
I only have a low-level job at McDonald's, but I want a durable, powerful computer that I can get through college with. Something that does animation, artwork, schoolwork, and also games.
What are your thoughts/experiences?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" 2014 MacBook Pro, i7 2.5Ghz, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD; iPad 3, iPhone 6
It's all subjective of course, but I guess you're not here for subjectivity...