Help choosing

Reaction score
I Currently have a dell pc:

1.6 processor
20hd
128 of ram and it is slow

I have been reading into mac's and that they are superior to pc's. Cost wise a macbook fits the bill. My needs are photo editing(wife has a dslr camera), video editing(just family movies mainly), resume's, internet use etc....... I will be adding Windows XP. I'm new to mac's and never used one before but feel comfortable purchasing one but not sure which one, macbook or macbook pro. The main reason that I want a laptop is that our family is growing so I want to try to avoid a stationary computer and computer desk(freeing up room), would like to be able to sit at the kitchen table, sofa, work outside while the kids are playing.

My budget is right around $2000.00ish plus taxes in Canadian dollars. Hopefully someone can give me some idea's and point me in the right direction so I can finally join the mac family. Thanks.

Reaction score
Well if you are going to use it for lots of things at one time or things such as (as you mentioned) video editing i would recommend a MBP.

OP
Reaction score
I'm sure I could sqeeze abit more out of the wallet. Which macbook pro would you recommend? Would the entry level pro be sufficent? Should I worry about the pro's hard drive having a slow RPM?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13 inch Macbook Pro Retina, 2.7ghz, 128gb SSD
If your just going to edit the odd home movie once in a while, then a macbook would do you fine, you might want to upgrade to 2gb ram however.

If your going to be editing home movies extensively then a macbook pro would be better.

OP
Reaction score
We will be editing photo's extensively but not video's. Video editing is really just for home movie's, maybe 5 times per month. My wife is into pro photography so as long as whatever machine I get can handle extensive photo editing and about 5 times per month for video editing then that is good. I can get:

Apple Macbook $2002.00
2.16GHz Intel Core 2 Duo