Darwin, BSD, open source, and viruses

Reaction score
Hi...

I was chatting with a Mac consultant who said something pretty interesting. He said the main reason OS X is so much more immune to viruses and malware is that the core and kernel are open source. So, he says, there's an entire community poking around and finding vunerabilities so Apple can patch them before any exploits are released.

So, my question is, besides the inherent strengths of a unix-based kernel, how much does open source affect OS X's security?

(I'm a newb to OS X so maybe I'm not clear on Darwin/BSD and Core/Kernel. If so, feel free to correct me.)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2011 MBP, i7, 16GB RAM, MBP 2.16Ghz Core Duo, 2GB ram, Dual 867Mhz MDD, 1.75GB ram, ATI 9800 Pro vid
I found this quote on another thread here. See the second quoted text.
http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/showpost.php?p=441769&postcount=15

Some have suggested that having your code open source could cause security problems. I'm sure it can as the bad guys can review the code for problems, but the open source community seems to be very proactive about solving security issues quickly.

The BSD used by Apple is based on FreeBSD. That group loosely shares its code and findings with the other BSD groups (there are several) and vice versa. The OpenBSD group is all about correctness regarding security. Their implementation is considered the most secure OS available. As I said, these groups share, so in the end Apple has the option to use the knowledge that is out there. Sometimes that is just a technique, and other times it is a known possible exploit.