Problems moving large data in 10.4.10

Reaction score
I have about 100GB of music in album folders that I am trying to move from one location to another on the same volume and I can't when I select all folders and do an option+drag it says "moving" in the progress bar but underneath it says "preparing to copy" then fails saying there isn't enough space to copy the files...

This is making me nuts!

I am new to the mac world and am a convert from windows but I am a systems engineer and very familiar with tech in general. I am thinking I must just be missing something here...

Can someone clue me in?

Edit: More in depth, I am trying to move the data from a folder at the root of the system drive to a folder in my user directory.

M

MacHeadCase

Welcome to Mac-Forums, sidus.

Option + drag will make copies, just dragging them will move the folders. I am thinking here that because it is such a huge pile (100GB), the Finder is probably choking on all the data to handle at once: your Mac probably doesn't have enough RAM installed or if you were copying them and there isn't room left on the hard drive, that too could explain the balking.

Why not try to move folders in smaller increments and see how the system reacts.

OP
S
Reaction score

Option + drag will make copies, just dragging them will move the folders. I am thinking here that because it is such a huge pile (100GB), the Finder is probably choking on all the data to handle at once: your Mac probably doesn't have enough RAM installed or if you were copying them and there isn't room left on the hard drive, that too could explain the balking.

Why not try to move folders in smaller increments and see how the system reacts.

If I select all then just drag it copies and every indicator says copy. I know it should try to move but it doesn't, it tries to copy. If I option drag, the progress bar indicator says move, the buffer indicator says preparing to copy.