Torrent Files

Reaction score
hey i am new to using torrents and i just started a couple a weeks ago although i find that the files take ages to download! Compared to my P2P system .. . . . .
I have very fast internet and it still takes ages . . .
is there any way i can fasten my download speeds?
how would i do that?:Confused:

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
17 inch 2 GHz C2D imac (5,1) with 3GB DDR2 RAM, X1600 (128MB memory) GPU - OSX 10.6.3
Ok I'll explain things for you.

A torrent itself is only like a note telling others out there hey I want to download what the torrents says. And if there are others out there with the file you will download it from them. And here are some terms you need to know.

Leecher: someone wanting to download something from a torrent. Can only download the information the torrent is refering to from a seeder.

Seeder: Someone who has the entire file you want to and is allowing anyone to download the file from them. And "seeding" is the process of allowing other to download the file they have on their computer by leaving their torrent client open after they have downloaded the file.

And you need to have seeders to download from. The more seeders the faster speeds you get.

And trying different torrent clients can help also. I have found one called "transmission" seems to work fine for me. It's a no frills client that just works and dives decent speeds I guess.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2.2Ghz i7 Late 2011 MBP: 16GB Ram 500GB Seagate XT HD
Just to give a minor correction. You can download data from leechers too. As you leech (download) from other peers you will be both downloading and uploading data that the torrent belongs to. But if you have all leechers and no seeders you may not be able to finish the download since 100% of the data my not be avaliable. I use transmission and azerus because my usual site doesn't like transmission. I'm waiting for utorrent to be released for the mac, that was my fav windows torrent client.