Performance question please

Reaction score
I'm a current PC user and I'm about to place an order for a new Power Mac.

My question is, should I buy the two 3ghz Dual Core or the two 3Ghxz quad core. It's a huge difference in price and the store cant tell me what sort of improvement in speed I'll get. The sales seems to be telling me whatever I want to hear.

I'm a photographer so, I'll regularly do some serious photo shopping by opening 50 or 100 20MB images to edit them while checking email, listening to streaming audio and surfing a bunch of websites simultaneously.

Bottom line, do I need the quad core or will the dual work just fine? What will the difference be?

Many thanks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Studio, M1 Max, 32 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD
My guess is that today, you will not see a huge difference in dual core vs. quad core. However, quad core is clearly the way of the future, and we will see more and more software that is correctly threaded, plus enhancements to OS' to take better advantage of this. I would recommend quad core as a future looking stance, assuming you plan to use this new machine for two plus years.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
17" Macbook Pro Unibody 2.66 Ghz and Powerbook G4 1.67 GHz 2.0GB RAM
I'm a photographer so, I'll regularly do some serious photo shopping by opening 50 or 100 20MB images to edit them while checking email, listening to streaming audio and surfing a bunch of websites simultaneously.

Bottom line, do I need the quad core or will the dual work just fine? What will the difference be?