.Mac: Is It Worth It

Reaction score
Hey all,
Im getting a MBP and I cant decide if I want or need .Mac. Im a new college student. What is it? Is it worthwhile? What do I get with it? Anyone have any experience?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Lenovo Z560 Hackintosh -:- '06 iMac -:- iPod Touch 2ndGen
I'd say no. You get an email address and your contacts in the address book, a place up upload web pages, some online storage and the ability to sync contacts and bookmarks with other Macs, but I don't think there's enough there to justify the cost. I only use mine as an online photo album, I feel it was a waste of £70.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP : 2.4GHz : 2GB RAM : 256MB VRAM : 160GB HDD
I think .Mac is really only worth it if you often use multiple Macs in different locations.

The core components (some online storage, an email account and some other software) can all be had for free from other places, but .Mac comes into it's own when you have to sync info between multiple Macs over long distances.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
27" iMac 2.7GHz Core i5, iPhone 6, iPad Air 2, 4th gen Apple TV
Not too long ago Steve mentioned there would be a major update to the very neglected .Mac in the "very near future". I'm hoping we will see some good things coming out of .Mac by the end of the year.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
3.4 Ghz i7 MacBook Pro (2015), iPad Pro (2014), iPhone Xs Max. Apple TV 4K
I think .Mac is really only worth it if you often use multiple Macs in different locations.

The core components (some online storage, an email account and some other software) can all be had for free from other places, but .Mac comes into it's own when you have to sync info between multiple Macs over long distances.