Macbook Pro, Questions Needing Answers!

Reaction score
Im a new college student looking to purchase a Macbook Pro, but I have a couple of questions. Im looking at a 15" 2.4ghz, 160gb 7200rpm harddrive, with a 3 year warranty. Should I get the glossy or matte screen. Is the glossy really that bad in the sun, especially the LED one? Will I be able to install windows vista *shock* easily enough? Should I install it, or just Parallels it, with games and such? Is there a good media-center like add on I can use so I can plug a co-ax cable and view TV on the Macbook? Could I use a 32" LCD HDTV as an external monitor and will it look bad if I do? Should I get a Mighty Mouse, or another wireless mouse, I need one to carry around? What additional products (peripherals) should I get? Thanks all!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 17" Intel Core Duo, 2 GB RAM + 20" ACD
Alright, I can't answer most of your questions- but I can help with at least one. If you want games in Vista, use BootCamp. Parallels doesn't do a very good job with 3D games and graphics cards and such. I believe the current version supports DirectX 8 or something. (DX10 is the current version. ) LED is just the backlight, won't change reflections or anything... It isn't sharper, and it isn't reflective- it uses less energy and is more eco-friendly, I believe.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP 2.4ghz; 4gb ipod nano; dell axim x51
I have the glossy (just got it about 1.5 weeks ago) and use it out on my deck occasionally (in indirect sunlight) and haven't had any problems with glare. I don't know if you can wait but I know that leopard (coming out in October) will have boot camp (a program to install/boot windows) already built into the OS. To view tv on your MBP you could use this(though I have no experience with it) http://microcenter.com/single_product_results.phtml?product_id=0259604