Frame by frame animation tool?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro, 2.33Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo w. Boot Camp partition / iBook G4 1.42 Ghz
Apologies if I'm in the wrong place, it seemed like the logical choice for this question.

I have a bunch of images I want to create an animation with. I was using an old Jasc program in XP using Parallels, but it corrupts terribly across platforms.

I'm looking for a Mac equivalent of Jasc Animation Shop. It allows you to create animations from still image sequences, but gives great control over each frames timing and also some great transition effects as well. I've tried iMovie and Quicktime Pro, but neither of these give me control over frame timing (how long each frame is onscreen.) Frame Thief is iSight based and isn't relevant to my problem.

Ironically Final Cut Pro is too powerful, I'm a novice and this program is simply too advanced for me.

Is there anything out there that could help? I have spent a vast amount of time on my project, I have 1000 frames to put together and nothing to do it with...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 15" 2.6Ghz | 200GB 7200 | 4GB Ram | 32GB iPod Touch 2G
This might be the software your after, I haven't used it personally as I use photoshop to create GIF's, but you should be able to load up unlimited frames and edit each frame individually.

If you want transitions between each frame, then your talking more about slideshows, and you'll find a few free programs at MacUpdate aswell to help you out there.

Reaction score
Use Imovie