Buying a Macbook in Hong Kong

Reaction score
Hey Mac-users,

I have a question about buying a Macbook and it is my first time on this forum.

I am going to study in 2 months and I want to buy a Macbook for my studies. I am from Holland and I am going to study there as well, but at the moment I am in Hong Kong. I heard it is a fantastic place to buy a Macbook as it is very cheap over here.

My first question is: Which Macbook/Macbook Pro do you guys advice me to buy. I am going to use it for study purposes generally. I don't really play a lot of video games, but I like my music and a fast internet speed, although that depends on the connection as well. Any advice is welcome.

Do you guys have any experience with buying Mac in HK? To make sure I am not buying a refurbished or secondhand Mac I check the serialnumber with the macsupport site. http://www.apple.com/support/.

The prices are extremely low here. It is about 8200 HK$, that is 1048 US$ for a Macbook. That is very cheap comparing to Europe (I am not going to the US unfortunately). Is this normal for HK? The prizes are from Apple stores in Windsor House, HK.

Maybe you can see I am a newbie. I hope that doesn't matter. Any advice and suggestions on where, what and how to buy are more than welcome.

Thank you in advance.

regards,

Nathan

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP 2.4 GHz C2D 160 GB HDD 2 GB RAM
As far as which one you should get, I would go with the MacBook. It sounds like you'll most likely use it for internet, word processing, and listening to music so the MacBook will do all of that for you plus more.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook black, Intel C2D 2GHz, 2GB RAM, 320GB WD Scorpio HD
Go for a MacBook Black. Apple has international warranty. you may need a power plug adaptor so you can use it the country where you are going.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook 2GHz/2GB/CD