whats the best recording setup?

Reaction score
So i have one of the new mac book pro's and its maxed out. 2gig ram 250gig hdd everything. I am a serious musician and am trying to record mt stuff in garage band. This program is obviously not good enough for what i am trying to do. I usually have about 7-10 tracks all mics no direct input. I record drums guitar and bass. Most of the time when i am recording in garage band it will record out of sync or the audio will sometime cut out and screw me up. What is a better set up and better program for me to use? Also i have sonar production but it is for windows are there any windows emulators i could get to install it?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Sooper Fast!
So i have one of the new mac book pro's and its maxed out. 2gig ram 250gig hdd everything. I am a serious musician and am trying to record mt stuff in garage band. This program is obviously not good enough for what i am trying to do. I usually have about 7-10 tracks all mics no direct input. I record drums guitar and bass. Most of the time when i am recording in garage band it will record out of sync or the audio will sometime cut out and screw me up. What is a better set up and better program for me to use? Also i have sonar production but it is for windows are there any windows emulators i could get to install it?

Out of sync = latency issues and not necessarily GB issues.

That being said, Logic Pro, Pro Tools, Digital Performer are all great mainstream mac apps.

With protools, you have to buy protools interfaces and hardware or it won't work. Not too expensive for their entry level equipment, but expanding and larger setups can get expensive if you don't have a large budget.

If you want quality, you're best to get preamps based on your mic and what you're recording. You could get a mixer/channel/analog to digital interface with 10 preamps, but the quality won't be as good as a good tube preamp. Vocals are a must. Instruments not so much.