new ibook owner here!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2.0 GHz 15.4" MBP 1.5 GB DDR2 SDRAM
hello everyone...

first of all, i would just like to let you all know that this forum has been very informative and helpful. i am brand new to macs and this site has assisted me greatly, so thank you all for that.

i just picked up a 12" 1 ghz g4 ibook and although its the lower end ibook, i have been very impressed so far. i feel like i have made a good decision as far as my situation (starving college student). anyhow, one of the things that i was a little disappointed with was the big cut of hd space all the pre loaded software takes up on my ibook. off the bat, its showing that i have lost ~10 gigs out of my tiny 30 gig hard drive. i want to know if i can free this up by possibly doing a fresh os install without any of the preloaded software, or if this is even safe. im also up for any other suggestions to free up some space.

thanks in advance for your help and i look forward to being a part of this mac community! :)

L

lzasitko

space on your drive

To start with a 30 gig hard drive is not really 30 gig :eek:

Most hard drive manufactures list it as 30 gig but they are using 1000 bytes not the 1024 that the computer actually uses so you likely loose a bit there.

OSX installs a lot of extra junk, I found a utility to delete all the languages that are installed and I can't use. In my case this freed up around 800meg.

If you do not use OS9 you could get rid of it....

You can also clean up all the pictures and screen savers etc, same as on a PC, I only keep themes etc that I use and scrap the rest.

Lots of ways to save space