Downloading torrents with Transmission

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 15", 2.16 ghz, 1GB ram, 120GB; iPod Classic 80GB; iPod shuffle (2nd gen); iPhone 16gb
Just wondering if anyone can help me.. I use a MacBook Pro and just recently started using Transmission. I was using BitTorrent before and experienced extremely slow download rates. I tried looking up how to change ports etc although I have no experience of this so found it difficult to understand. I didn't notice much difference in speed after following the instructions on several sites I'd found. However when I started using Transmission I did notice quite a big increase. I'm still not downloading at particularly high speeds though. I only have 2mb broadband, so I don't expect to be able to download 2gb files in half an hour or anything, but I would like to know if there is any way I can further improve the speeds? Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP 2.0 GHz, Core Duo, 2 GB Ram
Transmission increased my download speeds alot! One great thing about it is it will try to open the port it needs for you. But it never hurts to open up port 9090 (the default port on your own).

2nd suggestion is to goto www.dslreports.com/speedtest and pick a site nearest you, and run the speedtest. run it a few times, and get an average upload and download speed for your connection with no other internet based apps running. If it gives the number in kb instead of kB then divide by 8 to get kB/s.

Now take your max upload and max download and multiply by 0.8, and enter this in the transmission preferences>>bandwidth page as the max dl and max ul speeds. by not running your internet connection at max, you won't get an overload on your connection, and it will actually help increase your ul/dl speeds. Plus it makes it easier to get online and use other internet apps.

Hope this helps,

Brian