Setting up a wireless connection between a printer and a Macintosh

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a novice Mac user, and I have a question (obviously). :)

Would any of you let me know if the following instructions are correct?

Scenario: I have a printer with a wireless network adapter and I would like to set it up wirelessly with my Macintosh.

1. Open Internet Connect, and then select Airport.
  2. From the Network pop-up menu, select print server XXXX (where XXXX is the last 4 digits of my printer's MAC address.
  3. Open Safari.
  4. Click on the little book icon, and then select Bonjour.
  5. Then I double-click my printer model, and then click Configuration.
  6. Click Wireless.
  7. Then I change the following:
    - SSID
    - BSS type (infrastructure or ad hoc)
    - select type of security[/INDENT]
  8. Then click Submit.
  9. I open Internet Connect again, and then select Airport.
  10. From the Network pop-up menu, I select my original network.
  11. Then I install the CD that came with my printer and follow the instructions on the screen.

I'm having trouble connecting to the printer, and someone told me that before I click Submit (when I'm in Safari), I should first revert to my original network. When I revert to my original network, it is then that I should click Submit in Safari. I'm confused... (because it doesn't make sense to me...) which is why I'm asking for input from others.

Thanks in advance for your help!

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
Hi, I'm a novice Mac user, and I have a question (obviously). :)

Would any of you let me know if the following instructions are correct?

Scenario: I have a printer with a wireless network adapter and I would like to set it up wirelessly with my Macintosh.

1. Open Internet Connect, and then select Airport.