Any startup/processes tweaks in OS X similar to that in Windows?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" 2.4GHz MBP
I'm very new to the OS X world. Only a one week old Mac user as of yesterday. I've installed and uninstalled plenty of programs trying to figure out what works best for me. I uninstalled by either dragging apps out of the application folder to the trash or using the uninstall method that is included with the program. If OS X is anything similar to windows, there are still some residual trash from deleted apps somewhere on my HDD, and maybe even my startup. How do I tweak my startup apps and completely delete uninstalled programs? I'll most likely be reinstalling the OS once I feel I know what I want in terms of programs and utilities, just so I have an OS that is as clean as can be. Any help on this is greatly appreciated.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
3.4 Ghz i7 MacBook Pro (2015), iPad Pro (2014), iPhone Xs Max. Apple TV 4K
AppZapper......

There is no where near as much stuff left over in OSX like there is in Windows, and what is won't cause any issues with the system or it's operations.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook
Good to hear that you are enjoying your Mac.
Let me stop you and remind you of something first....
You aren't using Windows anymore. You can stop thinking like you are. ;):D
What I mean by this is can be seen in your post here:
I'll most likely be reinstalling the OS once I feel I know what I want in terms of programs and utilities, just so I have an OS that is as clean as can be.
This is completely and absolutely unnecessary. That is a Windows "tactic" to get things running smoothly. You don't need to do that with a Mac. In 20 years of using a Mac I have never had the need to do that.