basic recording setup

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15.4" MBP - 2.2GHz C2D, 2GB RAM, 120GB HD, GeForce 8600M GT w/ 128MB DDR3
Hi everyone,

I'm a Mac newb (heck, I don't even have one yet) but I will be acquiring one in the not too distant future. To make matters worse, I'm a sound engineering newb as well. One of the reasons for my switch to Mac is the vaunted ease of doing your own recording. I'm a saxophonist and would like to be able, to start out, just record myself with reasonably good sound quality. I'm assuming that the mic in whichever Macbook Pro I end up with is not particularly well suited to something like that. Could you guys recommend a basic setup that would facilitate this? Another assumption I'm making is that it'll take a mic and a box to run the mic into before it gets to the MBP. Which combo of these things would work well, with the possibility of expanding it to 3 or 4 inputs at once (I'm the front man of a jazz combo and we're trying to come up with a way to record without shelling out huge amounts of cash.)

Anyway, long post. If you've made it this far, you are to be congratulated!

-B

Reaction score
Garageband comes with every new Mac so you'll be covered on the software side of things. I recommend buying a little mixer. Something like this is cheap but does the job.

http://www.behringer.com/802/index.cfm?lang=eng

Get some speakers, a decent mic and you're good to go.

OP
brentsax
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Wow... I'm more than a little surprised at the inexpensive-ness of that mixer, cjay. I was envisioning $300 to $500 to get a workable setup.

cas

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook 1.83Ghz 512mb Mac OSX 10.4.8
brentsax check this out
it was recorded using olny the mic in my macbook and garageband...
the saxophone, voice and the flaute was recorded, everything else was midi programmed
i think it sounds good, considering that im not a sound engineeran advisable recording setup