Lost files!

Reaction score
Hi, I have been using Mac's for many years and have implemented a great data backup system.

First some info: I have a quicksilver dual gig with 3 SATA drives connected to a PCI card. I am a photographer and get very paranoid about losing files so I thought I had a rather good backup plan.

A couple of weeks ago I downloaded a full 2 gig CF card of images and one partial CF card to a internal HD that is set up as my main archive data drive. I also have a external eSATA that i constantly use as a backup to my main drive. I also use Carbon Copy Cloner to backup my system HD (which is dedicated to only system and apps). Every Friday I synk all of my data to this drive and periodically burn data DVD's to always have a hard copy.

When I came to my main archive drive I noticed that one folder was completly empty! I was horrified! I searched all over and those particular photos just would not show themselves. I KNOW that I took them off my card as it was my standard practice to do just that. PLUS, I always create a catalog in iView that sits in each particular project folder. The iView catalog showed each and every photo with a image path to my original folder, but I got the red "missing data" error.

Luckily my final backup plan saved my butt as about 90% of the photos were able to be restored as I always keep my CF cards in archive for at least 2 weeks before using them again. (See how paranoid I am??) Unfortunately I thought I had a a backup and used the partial card I shot to the point where the files are unable to be retrived.