2gb to 3gb worth it?

Reaction score
Hi all

I have the 15" 2.16Ghz Core 2 Duo MBR - with 2Gb RAM.

I'm a photographer and work with quite large RAW and TIF files in Lightroom and Photoshop CS3.

Is it worth upgrading to 3Gb considering I will need to buy 2gb to replace one of my 1gb modules?

Is there a decent market for used 1Gb modules? I'm in the Uk.

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
Hi all

I have the 15" 2.16Ghz Core 2 Duo MBR - with 2Gb RAM.

I'm a photographer and work with quite large RAW and TIF files in Lightroom and Photoshop CS3.

Is it worth upgrading to 3Gb considering I will need to buy 2gb to replace one of my 1gb modules?

Is there a decent market for used 1Gb modules? I'm in the Uk.

It depends on how much RAM your system is actually using. Open Activity Monitor and click the System Memory tab. That will give you a synopsis of how much memory is currently available (highlighted in the color green in the pie chart). If you've got plenty of green whilst all of your programs are running and you're working as you normally do, then you don't need any more memory.

Reaction score
i also just bought the same model last week, except with 1gb of ram and I am thinking about making the same upgrade as well. the best price i found was with OWC www.macsales.com. I am not sure if the ship to the uk or not, but yo can get the 3gb kit for $160US + taxes and shipping.

Reaction score
ram

i to have to 2g ram mac. i recently just bought a new 2g ram card for it to replace one of the other 1g cards giving me 3g ram but have since been told i should run 2 different branded ram cards. is this true or false?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP/2.53GHz i5/4GB RAM/500GB HDD/15" LED Screen/Intel HD Graphics & NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M
**Sorry just seen the date on this thread.

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs