Replaced keyboard, and now screen no longer works ! Help !

Reaction score
Hi there, im a newbie :D,

I've got a perfectlty healthy Macbook laptop, which is still under its 1 year UK warranty. One of the keys no longer worked, so i took it to apple, who said a whole new top case would be over £120 including parts and labour.

I thought 'No way **-say' and decided to buy the top case myself from the USA for half that price and carry out the repair myself...

Recieved the top case today, and followed a professional guide to install it. I removed the relevant screws etc, removed the 2x memory, removed the hard drive and when i got to open the top case, carefully removed the connection tab and replaced it with my new top case. Everything seemed fine...

However, once i put it back together again, i pressed the power button...no sound was heard but i could hear it booting up...the screen showed nothing. No sign of anything...completely black. No picture or anything.

HELP ! All help is MUCH appreciated. I wanna get my screen working again. What can i do ?
Thanks so much

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.4/2GB/200HD/256 8600gt
did u plug the screen back in?

maybe it unplugged by accident when u were fiddling?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook/13.3"/2.16GHz Intel C2D/1GB RAM/120GB HD/Ipod 20 Gig
So that wasnt covered under the one year? It should have been. I just hope that you didnt void the rest of your warranty by working on it yourself...sometimes that will void any warranty.

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Unless you did something you are not telling us that was considered user caused damage, they should have fixed it for free since you were still under Apple Care.

Now since you have messed with it, I doubt there is any Apple Care left.