hear the mic realtime?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2.0 ghz Macbook
Hi,

is there anyway for me to hear the mic realtime through the speaks/headset instead of recording and then listening back to it?

dave

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" 2.2GHz MBP w/ 2GB of ram and 320 GB HD, 4GB iPhone, 60GB iPod
sounds like you may have some latency issues... it would be EXTREMLY helpful to know what recording program you are using and how fast your system is.

chances are you just need to switch your output to headphones, computer or something rather than an output in the interface (what are you using for an interface btw?)

OP
T
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2.0 ghz Macbook
this is just using garageband or anything.

there isn't latency, no sound at all. it records fine but i just want to hear it through the speaks like a normal mic and amp system.

i am new to macs btw. i know with windows you can just turn the vol up on the mic and it comes out through the speakers even without software.

i want to do that basically.

hope that makes sense.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
White MacBook Intel C2D 2.2GHz, 2G, 250G, SD, Leopard.
Here's how you do it for a new Podcast.

Open GarageBand.

Start a new project, a Podcast.

Push the "View Track Info" button.

Select Male Voice (or Female Voice) in the Tracks area.

In the Track Info area, you'll see a selection for "Monitor" and it will likely be "Off". Set it to "On". Understand you could get lots of feedback if the speakers and microphone are too close. Using headphones solves that quickly.

Now for some fun.

If you open Details at the bottom of the Track Info area, you can play with things such as Speech Enhancer. If you select Vocal Transformer, you can choose many variations:

Male to Female
Female to Male
Droid
Chipmunk
Cartoon Falsetto

The gender benders are really good. Try 'em both!