Bought Macbook yesterday - trackpad annoyance

Reaction score
Hello everyone, this is my first post - I am new to Mac, and am happy to be here. :D

I bought my first Mac, a Macbook, last night. I love it so far - with one small issue. The trackpad has a tiny, tiny bump on it, probably no bigger than a grain of sand. I have no idea what it is (the small dot looks almost silver in bright light), but I know that it is extremely annoying. It seems like a small issue, but when you're exclusively using the trackpad, it's pretty prominent/aggravating. Since I just bought my Macbook yesterday, what will Apple do to fix this problem? Will they pry it apart, or am I entitled to a new computer? Anyone have any idea what the small bump maybe?

Sorry for the barrage of questions, and thanks in advance!!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2007 iMac 10.6.8 | 2009 MacBook uni 10.6.8 | 2010 MBA 10.8.5 |
I can't imagine what the bump could be. If I had just bought it last night, I'd take it right back and ask for a replacement! (Assuming you got it from a store and it isn't too far away?!) :)

OP
K
Reaction score
I did buy my Macbook at the local Apple store, which is only about 20 minutes away. I called them this morning and they said to bring it in this afternoon, and they'd do whatever it took to fix the problem. I am already very impressed with the service - what a good investment!

The little bump does seem very strange. At first I thought it was some sort of surface residue but when I looked closely I could tell that it was actually in the trackpad. Of course, this was after I had unsuccessfully attempted to scratch it off - whoops!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2007 iMac 10.6.8 | 2009 MacBook uni 10.6.8 | 2010 MBA 10.8.5 |
Glad they're gonna help you out!
414308857_2c40acd8ed_o.gif

C'mon back and give us an update. Welcome to the forum!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook, Black, 2.0GHz C2D, 2GB RAMs, 160GB HD