Uninstalling programs on OSX 10.2.8

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
C2D 27" W/ MAGIC MOUSE,iPhone 3GS
I have read posts where it states you just drag an application to the trash can.Well i have tried that with sophos and it leaves the icon in the menu bar whenever i open my system pref. dialog.Is there a program that succesfully uninstalls programs on macs?I am fairly new to macs as well.
Regards

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro Quad Xeon 2.66GHz 3GB RAM, G4 Quicksilver w/Sonnet 1GHz Encore ST, 1ghz G4 Powerbook
Found this at another site

How do I uninstall Sophos for Macintosh?
To uninstall Sophos Anti-Virus for Macintosh OS 10.2 and above, please run the uninstaller from the original Sophos Installation package.

Reaction score
Which section is it in? You say the menu bar in sys prefs? Do you mean the very top section where it says System Preferences?

Picture 1.jpg

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Black Macbook, 2.0ghz C2D, 120gb hdd, 1gb RAM
I dont know about you but i just drag the file from it's place in the applications folder to the trash then clear the trash. And of course remove any remaining files associated with the program in question

Reaction score
Mac apps come in two flavors: those you can just throw away and those that leave little turds floating around. With most apps you can just throw it away and be done with it, maybe a .plist file but those are harmless. Sophos installs several files, Norton anti-virus is similar, use their un-installer!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Black Macbook, 2.0ghz C2D, 120gb hdd, 1gb RAM
yea, for those that would leave crap behind i would think that they would have some sort of uninstall feature when you open the program.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Al iMac 20" 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo
OP
ibookmobile007
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Which section is it in? You say the menu bar in sys prefs? Do you mean the very top section where it says System Preferences?