Thinking about getting a macbook - advice needed.

Reaction score
Hi everybody!

I am considering purchasing a Macbook, and have a few questions. But first, a bit about me:

- I'm a university student.
- I've used Windows-based PCs for the last 14 years.
- I have some Linux experience (Ubuntu).
- I have never owned a Mac OS-based computer.
- I do lots of web design and development work.
- I do occasional desktop programming work.

I currently own a laptop (my main work machine) and a desktop, but the laptop is getting old and I want something more recent.

Now, the questions:

- Can someone who uses their Macbook for tasks similar to those I described above please explain their overall experience?
- Can anyone recommend any useful software for the above tasks? (Adobe CS3 is implied ;)) In particular, are there tools such as Dreamweaver for Mac OS? Will I be able to compile and run Java/C++ applications under Mac OS? (This one is not a huge biggie, since I have Windows desktop, but would be nice.)
- How is the battery life on new Macbooks?
- Is buying right now wise, or should I wait (painfully) until the end of summer? The reason I ask is because I read that Apple may announce new models soon, and the current models would drop in prices...
- Any other tips for a complete Mac newbie?

I need a portable and efficient laptop that will last at least 3-4 hours without a battery. I am very tired of Windows (thus my explorations with Ubuntu - which I generally like), and think Mac OS may be what I need.

Any help would be appreciated :).

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" Macbook Pro 2.26Ghz Unibody 4G RAM 160G HDD Superdrive
Hi everybody!

I am considering purchasing a Macbook, and have a few questions. But first, a bit about me:

- I'm a university student.
- I've used Windows-based PCs for the last 14 years.
- I have some Linux experience (Ubuntu).
- I have never owned a Mac OS-based computer.
- I do lots of web design and development work.