G3 - switching out logicboard & hard drive

Reaction score
Hi all.

I'm pretty new at this, so any help is probably great help.

I'm getting ready to replace the logicboard in an imac g3 slot loading but no firewire. 350 mhz i think.

i bought one from ebay (of course) to get firewire capabilities.

i've read somewhere that sometimes the newer hard drives take too much power from these old computers and they have a hard time booting with all the new stuff. how will i know if i'm ok? i'm also going to upgrade the hard drive too.

i also need some link to a walkthrough of sorts. as in, step by step, even what do i do once i close the thing back up and need to load the software. just stick the disks in and let it go? :) thanks for humoring me.

GB

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Quad 2.8GHz Mac Pro, Edge iPhone
Hey-
Did you get the CD I sent you yet?
I would recommend putting in the logic board, HD, and RAM all in at once. Do a PRAM reset (Option, Apple, P, R) on startup and let it reset. Shove in the OS9 cd and load it to the HD. Upgrade the firmware and install OS X 10.4.9.
If you have trouble, back track and use the logic board with the old HD and RAM so you can troubleshoot the faulty parts.
Good luck.
Bryan

OP
Paddler123
Reaction score
Hey Bryan,
yep, i got the cd today. Thanks much! i'll admit, i'm a bit confused with the software... :)