A MacBook Deal, And A Switcher (Oppinions needed ASAP)

Reaction score
Young kid with a lot of hours logged in Windows here, looking to pick up laptop for college and i've managed to spot this deal at a local retailer :

Black MacBook (Last Generation)

2.0ghz Core 2 Duo
120gb HDD
1gb RAM
Intel 950GMA
etc.. etc...

$1199.99

Wondering if this is a good deal for a switcher to jump on, and how long the intel 950 chip will truly hold up with Apple wanting to go hog wild with Core Animation in Leopard.

I've been a PC technician for 2 years now, and i'm pretty up to date on hardware and value... the Mac's are always higher priced (not going to say over, I havnt owned one) to there PC comparisons, can anyone give me a nudge one way or another?

Last thing to keep in mind is my budget is $1500-2000, so any suggestions (Like waiting past WWDC) are welcome as well, the MacBook Pro's just barely grace my price range.

Reaction score
If your going to college you can get the Macbook pro for $1799 with the educational discount, if you want to spend that much. If you want to get a MBP I would wait until WWDC I think with the macbook speed boost last week that apple won't let the processor gap between them be that small for long. The deal on the macbook is good, but if ou want to do any high end video work, or 3-d graphics you'll want the video card inside the MBP.

OP
Nicholi
Reaction score
If your going to college you can get the Macbook pro for $1799 with the educational discount, if you want to spend that much. If you want to get a MBP I would wait until WWDC I think with the macbook speed boost last week that apple won't let the processor gap between them be that small for long. The deal on the macbook is good, but if ou want to do any high end video work, or 3-d graphics you'll want the video card inside the MBP.

Thats my thoughts. I highly doubt i'll do much, not even gaming or anything of that real ilk. The utmost would be whats already found in the iLife suite.