website critique

D

design2

hey.
im a relatively new mac user and have found macs really simple and easy to use. i am doing a web design diploma at the moment and currently in the fireworks module making a small 5 page site totally in fireworks.
i tried to do this myself and have uploaded it to;

http://members.optusnet.com.au/lorigan/test2/

any comments on the interace, code, content, design or suggestions
are welcome.

i was wondering if theres an easier way to control the code that fireworks exports, for example it automatically makes slices of the background as images instead of making them blank and using a background html tag.
sorry for making a new thread. i wasnt sure where to post this. thanks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Pwnt
Welcome to the forums! Nice to see someone else from New Zealand here :)

Your website:
  • The navigation looks cool, although as a general rule it's a bad thing to have to mouse over every link to see where it goes.
  • I'm not an expert in fireworks, but you should just be able to set the canvas colour to stop it having a blue image (you'd then have to remove any colouring you've set in the text boxes). If you already have done that, don't worry but see next point:
  • You should avoid having the whole page as a series of images. The bits where you have text should be plain html (when you slice it in fireworks, choose 'html slice'). Unfortunately, you'll have to export using tables if you want an easy way of editing the text in a text editor. If you know css, then do select the option of exporting with it and position your text manually.
  • Don't have the links open in a new window - users can do that manually if they want a new window open. Instead, have a small, common navigation bar/image on every page.

I hope that wasn't too much!