Dilemma: new 14" iBook or new 15" Powerbook

K

kmaresca

I’m glad I found this forum; hopefully someone can give me some guidance regarding my “dilemma”:

I’m a 27-yo soon-to-be grad student; I’ll be getting my MA in International Affairs. For several reasons, I have recently begun considering from a PC to a Mac. My dilemma arose when I started comparing the new 15-in Powerbook (upgraded to 512 MB of RAM) and the new high-end 14” iBook (also upgraded to 512 MB RAM). I will have about $2000 (maybe a couple hundred more) to play with, but I will need to purchase MS Office for the Mac OSX platform (with a student discount, this will run me $150 - $200). Apple provides a $100 student discount on the computer. Both computer systems have ‘similar’, but not identical, specs.

I will be using the computer for the basic student apps, such as creating documents, spreadsheets, presentations, etc. There is a chance that I’ll need to run a statistics application as well. I don’t play games on my computers, but I will be downloading mp3s, playing around with digital photo applications, and using GarageBand. My question is this: is it worth the extra money (anything in excess of $2000 will be out of my own pocket; my generous parents are providing the first $2000) to purchase a 15” Powerbook, or will an iBook (when upgraded with additional RAM) serve me well?

One last question: does the Powerbook come with all of the standard Apple applications (iLife, iPhoto, Safari, etc)?

Any insight would be helpful. I don’t want to pay a lot of money for a system that is truly overkill, but I also don’t want to find myself in a position where my computer simply doesn’t meet the needs of something like a stats program. Thanks in advance!

rman

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14in MacBook Pro M1 Max 32GB 2TB