Question about DVD player

F

Fomer

Will my powerbook play Region 2 dvd's. (England) I have a US Powerbook (duno if theres a difference cause I don't know about England's stuff) Anyways theres some dvd's that do not exsist in region 1 that I would love to add to my library, but I am affraid my only means of a dvd player is a sorry 50 dollar Apex (which I doubt would play them), my Xbox (no clue), and my laptop.

I have no experience with region 2, but I have seen on Region 1 it says will not play in most Region 2 dvd players. Leading me to believe there is a difference. If it calls for it I will drop the money and buy a European DVD player. But I'd rather not...

Thanks to whomever can help.

(My Powerbook is no the newest but the one right before it. 15 Inch (the combo drive not super)

OP
W

Wapa18

i'm not sure, but i think i heard somewhere that VLC will play different region DVD's. check versiontracker.com

OP
F

Fomer

Do you think it would be a matter of the software and not the actual laptop? I hadn't even given thought to it could be as simple as using VLC... I wasn't even aware I could use VLC to play my region 1 dvds. I think I've gone Dos in my head, need to go back to thinking simple. I typed in region 2 and was unable to bring up anything other than Region X but that for Chinese, Japense, etc to be able to play Region 1 and not vice-versa from my understanding...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP 2.16GHz ^ATI Radeon X1600 256MB ^100GB @ 7200 rpm ^2GB RAM ^Glossy Screen +iPod 4G 20 gigs
A laptop DVD drive will play only specific DVDs from that region itself. So if your drive is set for region 2, it will play region 2 DVDs only. You are allowed to change the region 4 times (I think!). I got my PB from USA and use it here in England. My DVD region is set to 2 (for europe). I know that I can change it 4 more times, but not anymore after that, not even after i format my laptop! So careful there :rolleyes:

Hope that helps!

rman

Retired Staff