Laser Printer can't print DCS 2.0 file

Reaction score
I cannot print a Photoshop DCS 2.0 .eps cmyk with spot colour file through Quark 6.5 on the Epson AL C8600 can you please advise. All the cmyk is printing but not the DCS file.

How can I output the Photoshop DCS 2.0 .ep through Quark on the Epson C8600?

Any ideas?

M

MacHeadCase

The only thing I can think of is if you tell Quark it needs to out put it to a PostScript 3 printer. But then again I'm just starting to learn this stuff.

Are you using the Epson through OS X or earlier? I looked at the system requirements and the literature keeps excluding OS X for the Mac in all categories...

I have a big exam lined up today that will last all day but will try to ask around school to see what could be the problem but I won't be able to get back at you till much later tonight though.

In the meantime, another member will probably come up with the correct answer.

Edited to add:

A thought occurred to me: could it be because the CMYK files are separated from the DCS 2.0 file? If they are not residing in the same folder, this could happen. I made that mistake with our first trial with DCS 2.0 files and I had moved the DCS 2.0 file and I could not get all the correct print-out.

M

MacHeadCase

Sorry for getting back to you so late on this query.

I asked a teacher this morning and, from what I gather, DCS 2.0 is when you have in your doc Pantone colours or, if it is a CMYK doc, you have a 5th colour, possibly Pantone.

From the info you gave me, you are trying to print a CMYK doc using the DCS 2.0 file format which, according to my source, isn't required, not to mention that saving in DCS 2.0 is quite tricky with all the possible options. You should save your Photoshop doc in CMYK and print that through Quark instead.

Hope this helps.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
macbook