Locks?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
White MacBook, 2Ghz C2D, 2GB ram
Im going off to college in a short few months, and I was advised to pick up a lock for my laptop. Anyone know if the generic Laptop locks works with a macbook? I looked around on the case and didnt see anything....

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13'' Macbook w/ 2Ghz Core Duo, 2GB DDR2, 250GB HD, 10.5.4. iPod Touch.
No doubt Google will hook you up Mr. Dogfood. I prefer Kingston for all of my generic needs (such as locks), check this out.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Black MacBook Black 2GB iPod Nano & Black 80GB iPod Classic B&W G3 G4's - PowerMac & Cube
None of those are too good. For the most part, they're just keeping the honest people honest. Someone could get through one of those in a matter of seconds. People use them, but they really offer only minimal protection.

I don't know where you are going to school, but let me give you this advice. I am a freshman in college. I got my MacBok like two weeks before school started, and I was freaked out about people stealing it from me. I live in the dorms, where there are people around 24/7 and going into my first semester, I didn't really trust any of them. Now that the second semester's almost over, I would trust any of the guys that live up here with my life. I know them all, and I know that none of them would steal from me.(and if they did, it would be as a short-lived joke) We all have each other's backs, and if any one of us saw someone else's stuff getting ripped off, the robber would get his **butt** kicked. I never bought a laptop or external HDD lock, and I never needed one to begin with.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13'' Macbook w/ 2Ghz Core Duo, 2GB DDR2, 250GB HD, 10.5.4. iPod Touch.
If you're in a situation such as what Jeff has described, you shouldn't have any issues anyway. This is assuming that you use common sense and lock your doors/ do not leave your macbook in the hallway by itself for an hour.

OP
RawfodoG