Importing Contacts

Reaction score
Anyone know how to import contacts from macmail to gmail? I know there's a simple answer, but when I save the contacts to a folder it saves them in a Vcard format, Thanks in advance!

Reaction score
Anyone know how to import contacts from macmail to gmail? I know there's a simple answer, but when I save the contacts to a folder it saves them in a Vcard format, Thanks in advance!

Hi GulfVetSAF,

Gmail allows you to import your contacts through the CSV (comma-separated values) file format.

Here is a link to an AppleScript which outputs the people in the Address Book.app to a CSV file which is designed to be imported by Gmail.

Address Book To CSV

This script uses Address Book and Text Edit; when it's done, just save the new text edit document as filename.csv to your Desktop, and then open Gmail and import the filename.csv file.

OP
GulfVetSAF
Reaction score
Pulse, thank you. However, I'm only a month "mac aware." I've never used scripts before but I love learning and I think this will be a good way to start... but, I'm not sure where to begin. LOL I downloaded the script and am ready for more instruction. :) Thanks

Reaction score
Pulse, thank you. However, I'm only a month "mac aware." I've never used scripts before but I love learning and I think this will be a good way to start... but, I'm not sure where to begin. LOL I downloaded the script and am ready for more instruction. :) Thanks

Cancel that last advice, GulfVetSaf as I've found an infinitely easier method.

Here's the link.

I have already tried this and it works like a treat. I also tried that applescript which for some reason didn't work ....

OP
GulfVetSAF
Reaction score
Pulse, thanks again but that link doesnt work? I would like to know how to run the scripts though... glad you tried it first! LOL Again, I appreciate the help.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
3.06 iMac i3|12GB|500GB
I had to import my DVD list into a dvd library program using csv.