• The Mac-Forums Community Guidelines (linked at the top of every forum) are very clear, we respect US law and court precedence when it comes to legality of activity.

Therefore to clarify:
    • You may not discuss breaking DVD or BluRay encryption, copying, or "ripping" commercial, copy-protected DVDs.
    • This includes DVDs or BluRays you own. Even if you own the DVD or BluRay, it is still technically illegal under the DMCA to break the encryption. While some may argue otherwise, until the law is rewritten or the US Supreme Court strikes it down, we will adhere to the current intent of the law.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying unprotected movies or homemade DVDs.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying tools in the context that they are used for legal purposes as outlined in this post.

MOD file transfer

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook
Hi all a newbie here, yeah I suppose my story is the same as most of you. I got sick & tired of my Windows PC hanging/freezing-up and needing hard shut-downs I just had enough so I got my-self a smart little macbook I'm still trying to get used to the way 'it just works' LOL!

Anyway, I have a canon Eviro? camcorder but it stores the image files as MOD files which the Mac doesn't seem to appreciate, I cant seem to find a MOD to JPEG converter?

Any ideas?

Thanks

eric

Retired Staff
Reaction score
well according to wikipedia...

MOD is also the file extension for the video file format used on many digital camcorders, such as the JVC Everio, and the Panasonic D-Snap SD-card camcorders. Typically, such files are actually MPEG-2 video files with a different extension.

have you tried just copying these files on to the mac and changing the extension from .mod to .mpg or .mpeg?

welcome to the forums!

OP
W
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook
Hi eric
Yeah I have tried but my mac still doesn't like them?
I think I'll revisit the everio site and see if I can find something?

Thanks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs