Post your favorite Mac tip

Reaction score
Since I'm new to Macs all those fun little tips are still fun to discover. Post your favorite tip here. Don't be shy!

I'll start...

1) The ctrl+2finger trackpad zoom is very cool.

2) Right-clicking on MacBooks and MacBook Pros = awesome!
- System Preferences > Keyboard & Mouse > Place two fingers on trackpad and click button for secondary click.
- Thanks, and +1 rep, to StrechR for making my day with this one.

Add YOUR favorite tip!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac's
My favorite tip (especially for LONG forum posts) is "Summarize"...

Click/highlight the text in a post or news article....

Now click Safari.. Services.. Summarize.

Viola! You now have the short version of the post/story... You can use the slider to shorten or lengthen the summary.

It's like.... MAGIC!!!! Mac-Magic!!!!

eric

Retired Staff
Reaction score
i like how you can add apps and tasks to the finder toolbar (i've got get info, new folder, and renamer4mac app added between the standard buttons and the spotlight box).

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro 8x3.0ghz 12gb ram 8800GT , MBP 2.16 2GB Ram 17 inch.

Viola! You now have the short version of the post/story... You can use the slider to shorten or lengthen the summary.

Love that one.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Custom PC
My fave would probably be the famous "cmd+shift+3/4" for a screen capture/capture selection.

Reaction score

Hey that is great! Thanks!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
imac 20" 216 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo processor, 1GBSDRAM, 250 GB hd, Airport Extreme, Bluetooth 2.0
cmd + comma = opens Preferences dialog box on any Apple program.

cmd + click window title = pop-up shows folder path

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook Pro 2.16ghz, 2GB RAM, 160gb HDD
awesome thread :) very useful!

my contribution is apple + space for spotlight :)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac's
How about APPLE+F to "Find" a word or phrase on a page...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs