Which Text Editor

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro, OSX 10.4.8, 2.33 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 2 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM
Hey everyone, I'm a web developer and I'm looking for a cool "light" text editor to use.

I currently use Smultron and like it but I'm wondering if there is something else? I have Dreamweaver 2004 but that loading that app feels like a boat. I want a simple light text editor with color coding and possibly tag completion.

I'm looking for opinions on what you are all using out there.

Thanks!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 24" 2.16 Ghz, 2GB RAM, Intel Core 2 Duo, 250GB HD
Aria speed -

I also use Dreamweaver, but there are many a time where I just use TextWrangler or Nvu. Hope that might be what you are looking for in a light text editor.

OP
A
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro, OSX 10.4.8, 2.33 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 2 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM
Thanks Coriolis, I'm really just looking for opinions on what people are using. I'll give Nvu a try.

Thanks.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
White MacBook 2GHz Intel Core2Duo 1GB 667MHz DDR2SDRAM 120GB HD | iPod Video 80GB White | iPhone 8GB
Try FreeWay, but it's not free. And try Taco too. Taco is very simple and lightweight, and though it doesn't have a WYSIWYG editor it has a preview button to show it in your browser. It's free!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Powermac G4/450 OSX 10.4.11
There's a huge range of text editors out there
Of course there's the free one you get with every OSX install: TextEdit
Personally am a fan of SubEthaEdit though it's no longer free - if you can afford it there's BBEdit, though I don't think it's worth the money
There's also Vim if you like the vi terminal text editor (personally prefer pico so not always to my taste).

Reaction score
Here's a link to TextWranger that replaces BBEdit Lite.

Nvu is full of bugs. If you close a page, you have to quit the program to reopen it.

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs