• Welcome to the Off-Topic/Schweb's Lounge

In addition to the Mac-Forums Community Guidelines, there are a few things you should pay attention to while in The Lounge.

Lounge Rules
    • If your post belongs in a different forum, please post it there.
    • While this area is for off-topic conversations, that doesn't mean that every conversation will be permitted. The moderators will, at their sole discretion, close or delete any threads which do not serve a beneficial purpose to the community.

Understand that while The Lounge is here as a place to relax and discuss random topics, that doesn't mean we will allow any topic. Topics which are inflammatory, hurtful, or otherwise clash with our Mac-Forums Community Guidelines will be removed.

I think I have Mac's first virus!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
G3 iMac 400Mhz, 512Mb RAM,10GB HDD
This seems like a virus because I'm new to the Mac thing... All of the sudden my computer locks with a black box in the middle of the screen with the background dimmed... It said in like four languages that I needed to hold in my power button or use the restart button to restart my Mac... I left the PC and couldn't figure out why my music was skipping and that shows up... Is this normal? OS X 10.3.9

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Kernel Panic. Usually but not always caused by bad RAM or other hardware issues. Can be the OSX install also. Not a virus. Not in any way.

OP
IceCreamMan
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Yay! Glad I asked... Even when it crashes, it looks cool! I did put in some old 16MB Compaq ram stick, so it's possible...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Custom PC
What I'd do, if you have the resources, is use an old Wintel machine and run MemTest86+

It's on the Ultimate Boot CD, which any one who fixes PC's knows how amazing of a tool this thing is. UBCD Download Page