• The Mac-Forums Community Guidelines (linked at the top of every forum) are very clear, we respect US law and court precedence when it comes to legality of activity.

Therefore to clarify:
    • You may not discuss breaking DVD or BluRay encryption, copying, or "ripping" commercial, copy-protected DVDs.
    • This includes DVDs or BluRays you own. Even if you own the DVD or BluRay, it is still technically illegal under the DMCA to break the encryption. While some may argue otherwise, until the law is rewritten or the US Supreme Court strikes it down, we will adhere to the current intent of the law.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying unprotected movies or homemade DVDs.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying tools in the context that they are used for legal purposes as outlined in this post.

Copy a family video

Reaction score
I'm new to the Imac scene! I want to make a copy of a family video (which is on disk now). I've kinda played around with iDVD but I just cant figure out how to make a copy. I have the IMac 20 in with 10.4.8 operating system. Any help would be greatly appreciated1

Thanks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro | iMac(2.1 G5) | MacBook(2.16 C2D) | MacMini (1.67 CD) | iPhone 4 | iPad (3rd Gen)
What do you mean by making a copy? Do you want to copy it from the Disk to the HDD? If so it is a matter of inserting the disk in the dvd slot and once it appears on the Desktop, double click and "Drag&Drop" it anywhere you like. If you want to create your own DVD, you can use the iMovie.

OP
D
Reaction score
How to make a copy of a family DVD

What I trying to do is make a duplicate of a family DVD. Thanks.

Reaction score
G'day dennis495,

I take it the disc wasn't created on your current mac? I also presume it plays perfectly fine at the moment.