Beginner questions :(

Reaction score
Hey everyone!!!

Well Im new to Mac world!!! Just got my mac book pro today from Apple Store in Providence....

But I have a few (dumb) questions....

1.) How do I make it so when I close the lid my internet doenst shut off??? like if I am on instant messanger it signs me off...

2.) Also I tried installing Aim 4.7 but when it went to my desktop and I clicked on it- it said "movie failed" as if quicktime were trying to open it.... and I think QT is the default, but I dunno what to use to install it?

3.) Is there a way to make the keyboard act as an equalizer while music is playing??? I heard you can.... meaning the light will go with the music....

Thanks for answering my dumb questions :(

eric

Retired Staff
Reaction score
welcome Dan!

1) you can't. not unless you have a separate keyboard/mouse/monitor attached.

2) get rid of it. iChat uses aim. also most people tend to really like Adium, which is a multi-client chat app.

3) i'm not sure you mean equalizer, but i know what you're saying. i don't know of anything off hand.

there are no dumb questions, so feel free to search and see what you can find, and if you can't find the answer, just give a shout. also check the switcher f.a.q in the switcher forum. :)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Black Macbook C2D 2GHz 3GB RAM 250GB HD iPhone 4 iPad 3G
1. There is no built in option to turn this feature off. There was a third-party plugin that would allow you to do what you're asking, but apparently it doesn't work with the latest version of OS X (10.4.8+). So you're out of luck for the moment.

2. AIM 4.7 is a .bin file. Unfortunately, OS X doesn't come with a program built in that allows you to install from that file format. You need to download something called Stuffit Expander which will then allow you to extract the installation file from the file you downloaded.