I need specific type of backup software

Reaction score
Oh yah, seeing as this is my first post, might as well say hello to you all...

Hello...

With that said, here's my situation:

I've always had a very large music collection (I'm a freelance music writer and collect about 5 albums a week on average), and with my 300GB LaCie, I was always able to just copy my iTunes folder in full. The only music files I ever had to delete on my powerbook were songs or albums I just plain didn't like. When I'd copy the music folder to the external again, the backups of those unfortunate files would then be deleted as well because the folder would just replace itself. Up to a point, that was fine, I deleted those songs for a reason and they weren't missed. My itunes folder is now approaching 65GBs, and I'm down to the last little slivers of space on my powerbook.

So this is exactly what I need out of the software:

I want to delete albums I don't listen to often, but have backups of them on the LaCie. Most of the backup software I've looked at will just clone the music folder, deleting the songs on my external that I deleted on the main drive (which is the last thing I want) and creating an exact copy. I need a program that will copy all new/modified files from Folder A over to Folder B, but never delete files on B that I deleted on A. Using FileMerge I've been able compare the folders and do this manually with Finder, but its a huge hassle. Something reliable and automatic would be nice, I hope at least one of you knows of something. Thanks in advance for your assistance.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook
I realize now I probably should have posted this in the Software forum. I'm learning my way around here. Anyway, I'll post this there as well. If any moderator is reading this and no one has answered my question, feel free to delete this post.
It has already been moved to the proper forum. No need to repost.:black:

OP
B
Reaction score