Digital Camera help???

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac's
Ok... So I'd like to get more into photography... I am wanting to get a new camera. I know that it is about personal prefs, types of photo's etc... I need some help and recommendations.

I currently have a Canon Powershot A40 (I think?). It's just a little pocket point-n-shoot.. it takes okay pictures, but not a ton of detail.

I am interested in getting a DSLR... I like taking picture of People, landscapes, and macro (close-ups)... I am a novice (understatement). What would you recommend?

Is this a good deal? HERE

It has:
# Neck strap EW-100 DGR
# Video cable VC-100
# Interface cable IFC-400PCU
# Battery pack BP-511A
# Battery charger CG-580
# EOS digital solution disk
# EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 lens
# Canon 75-300 mm III USM Compact Tele-Zoom Lens
# Canon 30D Digital SLR Starter Kit with additional battery pack, UV haze filter and camera bag
# 3 Toshiba CompactFlash® Cards, 1GB

For about $1600.

Thank you for reading my 1000th post! :D:D:D

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook CoreDuo
yeah, the canons are pretty good cameras, and having two lenses is a good head start. 8.2MP is also pretty good, some are getting up to 10MP now, but 8.2 is still pretty awesome

and congrats on #1000...maybe I'll make it to 100 someday :)

OP
RiDE
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac's
Thanks MBasile...

What about the Rebel Xti or the Nikon D40?? Anyone have anything good or bad to say about these?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2.16 GHz Intel Imac Core 2 Duo//MacBook 1.83 Core 2 Duo//G5 Power Mac
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 2.93C2D 4GB
Agreed, DPreview is excellent. Once again I'll recommend Kenrockwell.com for those who haven't checked it out.