(( wacom tablet. yes/no? ))

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 15.4" 2.33GHz 2GB
I was wondering if anyone on here owns or has used a wacom (or any other brand) tablet?
ive never used one, and have heard some mixed reviews.

is it worth it? pros/cons?

tia

zzMac

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2.33 GHz Core 2 Duo 17" MacBook Pro, 2GB RAM
i've been a graphic designer for over 10 years now, and 4 years ago, i switched. over the past 4 years, i've used both the wacom graphire (bargain basement version) AND the wacom intuos (higher end -- what i use currently).

that said, i can tell you these important things...

-> the learning curve from mouse to tablet and stylus is a couple weeks, TOPS. (more like a couple days, really.)
-> pulling points (such as in illustrator, or pathing in ps) is about seventeen THOUSAND times easier with a stylus and tablet.
-> higher end tablets (such as the intuos 3 and above) offer built-in macro keys, which you can use with your fingers or with the stylus, and which, when programmed with savvy, can make your life a lot easier. (consider zooming in and out on a photoshop doc by simply sliding your stylus on a small pad to the side of your main tablet area.)
-> the tablet's "work area" is automatically mapped to the aspect ratio of your screen. thus, there is no more of that "move-pickup-move-pickup" thing that you have to do with a mouse.
-> the "posture" of your hand, when using a stylus, is far more natural than with a mouse, and thus, more ergonomically correct.

i resisted the switch for about a year, and finally "gave in" only because the pain in my forearm was starting to get worse and i realized i really needed to do something. once i made the change, i found that not only did my arm not hurt anymore ... like, EVER ... but i had unwittingly stumbled across the single greatest interface peripheral ever invented.

obviously, it comes highly recommended from this kid.

hopefully, this is helpful.

blair cerny | sf.ca

OP
Z