Mass File Management - About to switch back...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15.4" 2.16GHz Core Duo MBP 2GB RAM 100GB HDD 256MB Video Ram
I am a recent convert (January 07) and love my 15" MBP in many many ways. However, I'm about to sell it and go back to windows, and heres why:

I'm a student, but as a part time job I sell cars on eBay for a local car dealer. I have an html template written that includes 56 pictures of each vehicle, named [400 (1).jpg] through [400 (56).jpg]. The order of these pictures is vital, and its not always possibly for me to take the pictures in the order I need them to end up in.

Under WinXP, I would simply open a folder window with all the pictures for a particular car, drag and drop them into order from left to right and top to bottom, select all of them, and rename the first one 400; the rest of the files would consistantly be renamed in the same way. I could upload the folder, do a text replace for the folder name, and in 30 seconds all the pictures would be where I wanted them.

With OSX, I have found no way to do such a mass renaming of files. I bought Aperture, but when you export a picture set all semblence of order is lost - which is the most assinine thing I've ever heard of. I tried using A Better Finder's renaming utility, but I cannot control visually the orders of the pictures. File Sorter 1.7 Carbon has the same issue. It boggles my mind that such a great OS has such a poor multiple file management utility set.

OP
N
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Not really

That still doesn't allow my to visually arrange the pictures and then rename them in the order they are up on my screen.

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
That still doesn't allow my to visually arrange the pictures and then rename them in the order they are up on my screen.

That was my first thought as well. I know what you're talking about, and I've had the same problem/question myself.