Students

C

Crowdaddy

Hello,

I am about to enter University. I have narrowed my choices to either a 20 inch iMac, or a powerbook (size yet to be decided). As for needs, I want to game, and be able to fool around with iMovie and hopefully produce some nice looking videos. Of course I'll need microsoft office for my work. Keep in mind that I am 100% Windows at the moment and always have been. Are there any students out there who could aid in my selection and provide insight in to what is really needed as far as software and apple peripherials, upgrades for University? Thanks a lot!!

OP
T

TylerMoney

I am a graphic desing student. I use my 12" PowerBook G4 for everything...Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign....and it comes with iMovie, iDVD, etc. I have no problems running any of this stuff with just my powerbook..it runs everything beautifully. The most important thing is memmory. If you have lots of memmory, your powerbook, and or iMac when be an excellent member of your social life.

OP
M

Mac Apple

hey
im at uni and my iMac has been awesome. I use it for games (Ghost Recon, AA, Warraft etc.) for watching dvds, itunes,makin movies in iMovie/final cut pro (youll need about 512 of RAM for final cut) and of course my work (Adobe CS, Macromedia MX etc.) i dont know about microsoft office on the mac but I have had no trouble with Appleworks.

I chose the desktop over a laptop because I dont need to move the iMac and carry it with me, and its not to much trouble unpluggin it to transport it anwhere, e.g. home. Also if your gonna use it to watch movies etc the screen will be so much better than the power books one.

I vote for the iMac :)

OP
S

StarManta

I was a design student last quarter, but switched to programming. My 15" TiBook served me VERY well through both majors... I would highly recommend it.

OP
C

Crowdaddy