Thinking of making the switch to iMac

Reaction score
After only 2 1/2 years, my Dell notebook is on life support. I am seriously considering an iMac notebook.
I have NO experience with Apple computers.
How reliable are iMac books? How easy is it to learn the mac language? Where can I get more info?

Any problems connecting with my existing pc-based home network?

thanks!

Reaction score
The home of the free and the land that did for Bra
Your Mac's Specs
24"iMac, 15"MB-Pro, MacBook, G4 iMac, PM G5 2x2Ghz, G4 iBook & Some PCs
After only 2 1/2 years, my Dell notebook is on life support. I am seriously considering an iMac notebook.
I have NO experience with Apple computers.
How reliable are iMac books? How easy is it to learn the mac language? Where can I get more info?

Any problems connecting with my existing pc-based home network?

thanks!

First off the iMac is a desktop machine and the MacBook is the notebook/laptop.

Secondly there isn't a "Mac language", Macs all run on Unix (BSD to be specific) but the GUI is very similar to others (like Gnome or Vista).

Macs, Win-boxes and Linux all behave pretty well nowadays on networks so you don't have to worry on that score.

Amen-Moses

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" Macbook Pro 2.26Ghz Unibody 4G RAM 160G HDD Superdrive
An extensive search of this site and others will give you a wealth of information regarding Mac models, which are notebooks, which are desktops, etc., and how well they interact wih computers of other operating systems. You will see many different postings regarding their reliabilty. Remember that most people post when there is something wrong. The vast majority are using their Macs for productive work and play elsewhere. Or posting what hopefully will be interesting info here.

The one thing I can tell you is that if you purchase a Mac one of two things will happen: