Website! .mac with iWeb or Rapidweaver?

Reaction score
Hi. I am building a website in iWeb. I have a domain name through godaddy.com.

I chose iWeb to design because I have the program. I haven't put a lot of time into it yet.

What I want to know is: is a .mac account, with forwarding and masking from godaddy.com the best option for me? A few words about me.

I am a musician and producer. There will be music and video at my website. I am certain I can keep the size under the 1GB .mac account offers... but I want to make sure this is a good option for me in terms of the forwarding, and the bandwidth .mac offers.

If you feel this may not be my best option...

Are there any other web hosting services that allow me to upload from iWeb created website?

If not, are there any other programs that allow you to build a website and then upload to either their site or to Godaddy.com?

I actually have Rapidweaver 3.5...which I never thought I would use. Does that program deal well with audio and video files (all Quicktime; I make music in Logic, video in Final Cut Pro). If I did use Rapidweaver, would that allow me to be hosted directly by godaddy.com?

I would still like to have a blog, password protection, and the things a .mac account offers me. Are these things available when you are hosted at a site out in the PC centric world, with a website created on something like Rapidweaver? Or is a mac user best off with iWeb and .mac?

Thank you very much for any replies!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" Powerbook G4 • 24" iMac • iPhone 3Gs
I used a .Mac account, an iWeb website, and Godaddy URL forwarding for almost a year with no problems. The site had a few high-res images and a demo movie, around 100MB.