Big Difference between Core Duo and Core 2 Duo Performance?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
White Macbook (refurb), 1.83 GHz Intel Core Duo, 2 GB Memory, 60GB HDD
I'm looking to finally do the switch after much recommendation and a great trial with my friend's Macbook!

Due to financial reasons, I'm thinking of buying one of the refurbished Macbooks - in particular one of the top two options. However, I'm concerned about the performance difference between a Macbook with a Core Duo processor and one with a Core 2 Duo.

Is the performance difference noticable by a big margin? Is it big enough to justify spending a bit more to get a Core 2 Duo model? And finally, is the black one a rip off really? How many of you would consider purchasing that model?

Thank You I can't wait to hear your responses!

p.s. This is my first 'real post' - seems like a great community! Hello!

OP
S
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Sorry I forgot to add what I use it for.

I'm a University student - I will mainly be using the Macbook for browsing, IM, basic word processing and of course listening to music.

I've been reading up a bit more about the differences between CD and C2D and some sources have said that the performance difference is merely 10% increase for the C2D. Do you guys agree?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13.3" MacBook Intel Core Duo 2GHz, 60GB HD, 512MB DDR2, and the SuperDrive.
I think the big thing you want to look for is memory. I don't think the C2D is going to make any noticable difference for the uses you mentioned. Just make sure you get at least 1GB of RAM. I have 512 on my Macbook, and it can get laggy if you have several windows open in Safari, iTunes, several Widgets, and iChat running at once.

OP
S
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Thanks iSeb - that's EXACTLY what I wanted to hear.