New and confused!

Reaction score
I am very new to all of this and I am in my 2nd week of research. I am a second year Web Design major student and I am in the market for a notebook. I have a couple on my list and one of them is an Apple. I have been looking at Alienware Sentia 3450, Dell XPS M1210, and the Apple. I like the look of the Apple and the small footprint of the Macbook. I have a couple questions that are probably related to being new to Mac. I would like to know what the lifecycle is on a mac, if I decide to drop $1500-$2500 on a Macbook or Pro, how long will it be before I will need to buy something new? Having come from a PC based world I would like to know, with both PC and Mac running Intel Core 2 Duo, why does PC need more power but the Mac does not and will my web design software run nice on apple notebook? If there are any designers here, do you like coding on mac or pc? Lastly, will I need the Macbook or the Macbook Pro? I am will to ante up for the Pro but I absolutely love the footprint of the 13" model. I am not replacing my home pc just yet so I do have an excellent machine already, just looking for something new and portable, a good investment!

<R>

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro | iMac(2.1 G5) | MacBook(2.16 C2D) | MacMini (1.67 CD) | iPhone 4 | iPad (3rd Gen)
Well, it is hard to say the lifespan of a Mac. However it is certainly longer than a PC with equivalent specs. The main reason for this is, the same company make both hardware and the software.

Most of the folk here would agree if I say that the OS X is the best platform for designers, whether it is video/audio production or making a website using Adobe or any other similar software.