Buying a Macbook...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
White Macbook - Core 2 Duo 2.0 GHz, 1 GB RAM, 80 GB HD
I am (was) a lifelong PC User, and am finally upgrading to a Mac. I had a couple of questions from experienced Mac users to know what is the best computer for me to purchase. First off, I am a college student and basically use my computer for doing homework, and using the internet. But I do multitask on my computer all the time (I always have several programs running at the same time). I pretty much use all the programs in Office, AIM, Firefox, etc - but don't play any computer games or use many other programs. I want to get a Macbook because I like how small and portable it is. Which of the 3 configurations be the best for somebody who is a light computer user? Are the refurbished models worth looking into? Most of the one's I saw are the old configuration with a Core Duo instead of a Core 2 Duo - how important is that? I would like to save money if possible, but it is not worth a downgrade in quality to me. Also, my the Computer Store at my school has the middle and black Macbooks for the regular price ($1300 and $1500), but they include the AppleCare 3 year warranty. So my student discount ($100) is replaced by the warranty, basically. Is AppleCare worth it?

Thanks for your help.

eric

Retired Staff
Reaction score
definitely go with at least 1GB of ram. i think that's the most important macbook option. that one is pretty crucial; others are just icing.

you could certainly go with a refurb core duo - i have one and it's great. you may also be able to get a few more options for less cost (superdrive for burning single layer dvds, larger HD).

welcome to the forums, and once you do get a mac, if you have questions just let us know!

Reaction score
For any sort of budget, I strongly recommend avoiding the black one. Honestly, I can't see the logic behind such a price increase for a largely cosmetic upgrade from the mid-level model to the black one.